This scholarship is awarded to a Year 11 student in each of the high schools in Wagga Wagga and is paid to the student in year 11 and year 12. The scholarship was established in 1983 in memory of the late Noel Barnes who was the guiding force behind the formation of  Wollundry Rotary club..


While the scholarship has up until 2000 being awarded at $500 per year per student this amount is now reviewed by the incumbent board each year to ensure currency. Based on seven schools it has become a commitment of $7000 per year from the club as  ten students are in receipt at any one time  seven Year 11 and seven Year 12.  (Effective 2005-2006 when Mater Dei extends to Year 12 for the first time).


Letters as attached are sent to each high school in the first week of the school year asking principals for selections.  The principal of each school is the sole arbiter in the selection process and we ask for final nominations by the end of February each  year..